top of page

Miracle Mile (2016)

Technical Information:

soprano saxophone, piano

Duration: 8'

Commissioned by Misato Hanawa

Premiered December 9, 2016

Misato Hanawa, soprano saxophone

Arisa Sakai, piano


Program Note:


Miracle Mile was written under the commission of Japanese saxophonist Misato Hanawa. I had worked with her on a project previously, and had a good understanding of her techniques and abilities on the instrument. I tried to incorporate her lyrical yet well-articulated sound quality within the piece. The piano part supports the saxophone line through active and rhythmic passages. The piece was completed during the fall of 2016 in Los Angeles. I had just moved to California and I was inspired by the great weather and vibrant atmosphere of my neighborhood, Miracle Mile. I dedicate the work to Misato Hanawa who has been an amazing supporter and inspiration for this project. 

– Nicky Sohn

bottom of page