top of page

Train of Thought (2017)

Technical Information:

string quartet, piano

Duration: 13'

Commissioned by the New York Choreographic Institute

Premiered March 17, 2017

Hahnsol Kim and KJ McDonald, violins

Jacob Vandersloot, viola

Philip Sheegog, cello

Fifi Zhang, piano


Program Note:


Train of Thought was composed for the generous commission by the New York Choreographic Institute at New York City Ballet. I was very fortunate and privileged to be invited as one of the composers to partake in their 2016-17 season. The roots of this piece began germinating by the conversations I had with the Italian choreographer, Fabio Adorisio and the life transitions during the period.

With a free-flowing, fluid dynamic and a resemblance to through-composed form, the composition was structured mostly around small melodic ideas blossoming in a sporadic manner. As I was on the train getting back to New York City, I had bursts of ideas looking back on some of the memories, that inspired the piece. Scattered ideas and memories creating a train of thought during my train ride back to reality are shown through the loose running structure in the music.


– Nicky Sohn

NYC Ballet
bottom of page